{FFWD} recipe-swap onion “carbonara”

I read that recipe title and had no idea what to expect. But, since my mantra has always been “Trust Dorie!” I decided to read on and see what was going on. What was going on was a swap of steamed onion strips for the usual pasta in carbonara. It has all the usual ingredients: cream, Parmesean {mixed in rather than sprinkled on top} , eggs, pepper. All the usual ingredients except the

    PASTA!!

P1030445

Usually spaghetti but you can use linguini or fettuccini.

Okay, it was…eh… different to be sure. But did I like it? Not on it’s own. Admittedly there was NOT an strong onion flavor, which surprised me.

Dorie’s Bonne Idee is to serve the recipe as a sauce with pasta.

P1030448

I liked it a whole lot better that way. The pasta mellowed the flavor of the sauce.

Visit with the other members of French Fridays with Dorie and their “carbonara”. The recipe is on page 153 of Dorie’s around my French table adn I also found it HERE.

This entry was posted in around my French table, French Fridays with Dorie, pasta. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to {FFWD} recipe-swap onion “carbonara”

  1. nana says:

    I am going to try the Bonne Idee next time, that looks wonderful. Have a very Merry Christmas.

  2. Cakelaw says:

    Hi Margaret, glad you found a way that you liked it. Is this your new blog for everything?

  3. Teresa says:

    I really liked the sweetness that came out in the onions when they were steamed. We were pretty happy with this as it was, but I can see it being fantastic over pasta, too.

Leave a Reply

